2024 Allocators’ Choice Awards — Call for Nominations

This year’s awards will honor allocators in six new CIO categories.


Bigstock photo


It’s that time of year again when we ask for your input to name the top allocators, who are steering their plans through another challenging year. We invite you to submit nominations for the Allocators’ Choice Awards that will take place in New York City on September 12, 2024 at the Mandarin Hotel.

This year Institutional Investor has changed the awards categories to honor CIOs in multiple sectors, from healthcare systems to public pensions. Each field presents different risks and opportunities and we wanted to recognize those who have demonstrated proven results and leadership compared to their direct peers. These investment leaders do not have to run the biggest funds or have the most name recognition. What matters here is quality, not popularity.

The CIO categories for this year are broken out as follows:

  • Insurance Company CIO of the Year
  • Corporate Pension Plan CIO of the Year
  • Healthcare System CIO of the Year
  • Family Office CIO of the Year
  • Endowment/Foundation CIO of the Year
  • Public Pension Plan CIO of the Year

    The six CIO of the Year awards recognize outstanding performance within each category along with a well-defined theory of portfolio management that fits the needs of the organization. Nominees should be effective leaders, generous mentors, and industry advocates who exemplify the profession’s standards. They should be excellent at selecting managers, developing talent, managing board expectations, and maintaining relationships with fellow allocators.

    In addition to the CIO categories, there are two other nominating awards. These are the Allocator With the Best Hedge Fund Portfolio, which recognizes an institutional investor that has built an innovative and robust program of top managers that is a source of diversification to the overall plan, and the Allocator Rising Stars, which highlight up-and-coming professionals who have what it takes to become a chief investment officer or asset class head one day.

    And finally, II will present both the Allocator and Hedge Fund Manager Lifetime Achievement Awards for 2024 at the Allocators’ Choice Awards. Lifetime Achievement recipients are selected by the editorial team based on II’s in-depth knowledge of and reporting on industry leaders. Last year the Allocator Lifetime Achievement Award went to Andy Golden, and King Street’s Brian Higgins and O. Francis Biondi Jr. were presented with the Hedge Fund Manager Lifetime Achievement Award.

    Key Information and dates:

    • Nominations are open now and can be submitted here:
      You may recommend nominees in any or all categories. All nominations are anonymous and will be reviewed by the editorial team to inform the selection of award finalists.
    • Nominations close at 5PM ET on June 14, 2024.
    • Organizations interested in sponsoring the Allocators’ Choice Awards should contact Worla Tagoe at worla.tagoe@institutionalinvestor.com.
    • To attend the event, register here: